Holiday Mode

Six days off. Count them – SIX!

Six days off in a row. It’s school holidays and I am catching up on some much needed time at home. I am planning do a little of everything. A little cleaning, a little lazing, a little “self-care’, a little going out, a little shopping, and a whole LOT of being with my family.

I am so busy doing all my “little things” that I haven’t had time to blog.

Dani and I left work at 4 on Saturday and I have been in “holiday mode” ever since. Saturday night I went out on a “hens’ night”, singing Karaoke, ( I am a way better scrapper than I am a singer) and ended up at the nightclub. Oh, that is so not my scene and I think i was the second oldest person there. Hee hee – Wenda you ARE older than me!  So, after hanging out at the Vibe… (my first time in there) we got home around 2am. YIKES. 2am! Me? And all night I only had ONE drink. Count that – ONE! It was a lot of fun, with girls I hadn’t been out with before – thanks! (Bad influences)

Sunday I was allowed to sleep in, then Andrew went off to the Car Show and Shine in town and I babysit his kids. Whilst babysitting I had a lovely long shower, shaved my legs, cut my nails, washed my hair and sat in the sun reading a book. I wish my kids were as well behaved as his. 🙂

They went to the park and Daniel brought me home a flower. “For the patterns in it Mum.. See.. Look close.. You can see love hearts” . That sure is something Daniel would pick out.

Daniels flower. Look closer, see the hearts? They are white. One up the right way, the next upside down.

Daniels flower. Look closer, see the hearts? They are white. One up the right way, the next upside down.

 

This afternoon Andrew worked near the cubby, cutting down the tree and setting fires. I called to the boys, who were transifixed on the computers, “Hey boys, Dad’s got a fire if you wanna go play” and quick as a shot they were off out of their seats and running down the back. What is it about fires?

The old black stump is chopped and they are burning what is left.
The old black stump is chopped and they are burning what is left.
hee hee I love this shot.
hee hee I love this shot.
Run run as fast as you can... but go too close and Mum'll have kittens.
Run run as fast as you can… but go too close and Mum’ll have kittens.

I began another job, sanding down the old fridge out the back. I plan to paint it. It’s a bigger job than I imagined. I hate that. When I bite off more than I can chew.

Finished sanding the front. Well... as finished as i am gonna be. Look how rusty it is!
Finished sanding the front. Well… as finished as i am gonna be. Look how rusty it is!

Almost done side one. This is about where I wanted to give up.

Almost done side one. This is about where I wanted to give up.

Tonight Mum and Bill organised babysitters and gave us tickets to see the “Eagles Tribute” and I dragged Andrew along with me. He wasn’t keen. He was tired (all that rubbing on his car and mucking about down by the cubby I suppose) I guess I understood his point of view that they wouldn’t be as good as The Eagles and would have been miffed if they were off. But they were fantastic. Had us all standing and clapping above our heads – that’s hard to do for a whole song – and tapping toes and singing along. Much much more my scene than the nightclub, where every song sounded the same rapcrap, boob jostling, bum wobbling music. Not like good old rock. Where there is a decent beat and you can appreciate the harmony in the vocals. I’ve got Hotel California in my head… I must say I trashed that at Karaoke last night.. bad bad bad. Don’t let me near that microphone.

5 responses to “Holiday Mode

  1. Damn – I was looking forward to a little sing star at Christmas – I sing way better after a few wines. Obviously, you just needed more than 1 drink!

  2. I’m in my sixth week off – but it aint been all easy going. But time sure does fly when you’re having fun. Tomorrow I will be finishing off Louise’s sCrapbooking room by hanging some mounting poles (for the second time, but that’s another story). It will be hard when I go back to work not seeing the family all the time. I can just see that Oliver will be a turkey.

    Glad you’ve had fun and that the house didn’t burn down. I know you need to light a match under DF, but that’s taking it a bit far to start fires 🙂

  3. Ahem! Chris dear- you need to get a job before you can go back to work!

  4. Lisa… we will crank up the Sing Star don’t you worry!

    Chris… I’d love some pics of the sCrapbook room. If I had a dollar for every husband that has called it that… I’d be rich!

    Louise… Send him back so you can buy some more scrap supplies! Make sure he’s finished putting up all shelves, etc first though.

  5. All the rods are up! As far as Chris is concerned, his work is done. However I need him to take me to Ikea for some more bits to dangle off the rods…………then I can reorganise, reshuffle and repostition!

Leave a Reply

