Just stuff

Sanding back this stupid fridge… who’s bright idea was it anyway? Oh that’d be mine! Stupid stupid stupid.

My back is just about wrecked and I am hobbling like an old woman. When I thought about painting the fridge I didn’t envision all the extra work. My Darling informs me that I must sand it back properly and has equipped me with the tools I need – plus my own two hands. I tried bribing the kids, after the first hour I was sick of it, but they were not going to be in on the joke. No way. So, with my ears ringing with the sound of the sander and my fingers all scratched up from the coarse sandpaper, and my hands feeling wobbly from the motion of it,  I have finished sanding today. It’s nowhere in the vicinity of a good job, but it is as excellent as it’s gonna get!

So, let’s get painting. Oh no.. now I need to prime it if I am going to use the left over paint from the loungeroom. Oh, did I mention that the fridge is going to be blue? I didn’t? Oh, well… it is. Much to my Darling’s disgust. Oh, c’mon, where’s his sense of adventure? This is a very very old fridge, more suited for the tip; dented, scratched and missing bits -it’ll be a great make-over.

So, because I want to use the old paint, it’ll need to be spray painted on. That means it needs to go down the shed. Imagine here how thrilled my Darling is about helping me take it down the shed, (making room for it) and then ‘helping’ me to get the spray painter going. Seeing as I am physically useless and can’t move it myself, and I have no idea how to get the compressor and the spray gun working… he’s over the moon.

So, the poor old fridge is bare and naked, waiting outside in the cold for it’s makeover. Tomorrow, my Darling tells me… tomorrow.

Say good bye to the sad old fridge.

Say good bye to the sad old fridge.

I spent a fair amount of today with my 2 youngest boys, trying to get them to clean their room. What an effort! It honestly would have taken me about a half hour on my own to do it, they took over 3 hours! In the end I was sitting there giving exact directions. I swear I nearly put them up for adoption today. They had been banned from computer and playstation due to mucking about, and still it did not encourage them. Honestly, they have been bouncing off each other all day, they love each other’s company and it drives me to distraction! I did get some pics on the trampoline today of them playing ‘dodgeball’ with a netball but my camera battery is flat, so no photos here again tonight. Watching them playing is awesome. They are unreal little kids, and I certainly don’t want to really set them up for adoption, but watching them clean up today was painful. At least now it’s tidy, I know it’ll stay that way for a while as they are generally pretty good at keeping it that way.

Dodge ball. Rules One on the tramp. One on the ground.

Dodge ball. Rules One on the tramp. One on the ground.

Try to hit the one on the tramp with a ball.

Try to hit the one on the tramp with a ball.

No hitting hard and use a big ball.

No hitting hard and use a big ball.

When you are on the tramp try to "dodge" the ball.

When you are on the tramp try to dodge the ball.

Taunting is allowed. All part of the fun.

Taunting is allowed. All part of the fun.

My boys were on this tramp from the moment they could walk and are very confident. So confident that they go seriously close to the edge. I don't usually watch so close.

My boys were on this tramp from the moment they could walk and are very confident. So confident that they go seriously close to the edge. I usually do not watch, it is not good for my heart.

You will eventually get whacked.

You will eventually get whacked.

Ah they rest. Finally. This looks like a lovely quiet moment. And it was as they caught their breath. Till they began throwing bird poop at each other.

Ah they rest. Finally. This looks like a lovely quiet moment. And it was as they caught their breath. Till they began throwing bird poop at each other.

And back into it again.

And back into it again. See Matthew doing the WHATS OVER THERE technique.

It gets him everytime.

It gets him everytime.

I have been planning another extension class, and am excited about this terms extension class shedule. It’s a bit different, so I hope everyone likes it. I am always so nervous when implementing something we haven’t done before, worried how others will like it. I question myself all the time. Is is too easy? Is it too hard? Is there too much cutting? Is there a new technique to learn? Will we use new products or old? Do we want it “arty”, or do we want it “clean”. How many photos is best?  Will it fill the given time frame? Oh the list goes on and on. So, as a consequence, this layout will sit on my desk for a lot longer yet while I question myself some more.

I did some more ordering tonight, and got some cool stuff for retreat, ooh la la! If you aren’t coming to retreat, but want to check out our special ordering, then come into the shop on Monday morning 20th October. We will have it out till 2pm in the workshop, after that it’s packed up as we have class Monday night. Some will be consignment so will go back to the wholesaler if not sold.

In the mean time, did anyone do the challenge? Not me. I was too busy over the weekend, I will have a crack at it later this week. Tomorrow we will go shopping. We are out of milk, (pubic holiday) I paid $6.80 for a 3 litre at the servo today so Joshy could have this “snack”. Crikey moses. $6.80

2 responses to “Just stuff

  1. what?!! no photos! you can’t give us all those juicy makeover details with no photos!!! come on, i know you’re on holiday but that’s no excuse, hope your back is feeling better.

  2. I promise I will update it tomorrow. i am taking the battery RIGHT NOW to charge.



    Ok. It’s on now.

Leave a Reply

