Sadness

I am sad today. I am questioning. I am angry. I am feeling such sorrow for friends of ours, the Rowe family from Perth. My heart is heavy as I try to grasp just what they are going through now. Bashing victim ... Woodvale youth Steven Rowe.

We met the Rowes when Joshua was little, brought together by 18Q- syndrome, which their daughter Angela has. Over the years we have met up ocassionally, once travelling to USA for a conference about 18q- to gain insight on how to deal with 18q- syndrome. A kindhearted family, welcoming and supportive.

Now they are dealing with something unthinkable. Their son, Steven has died due to brutal head injuries. Steven was trying to help a friend and was hit with a lump of wood on the back of his head. He was on life support in hospital and died 5 days before his 18th birthday.

The accused teenager who is also aged 17 and cannot be named because of his age has had bail application
rejected, and the charges have been upgraded to murder. Police allege the male youth struck Steven to the head with a piece of wood on October 31 as he walked on a pathway next to Timberlane Park, Woodvale. Steven fell to ground immediately and lost consciousness. 

He is a relative of Yalgoo father-of-five Bill Rowe who died after being struck on the head with a cricket bat at Sunset Beach in Geraldton on Christmas Day. To lose a second member of the family due to violence in the community must be overwhelming.

I am in shock, and haven’t contacted Veronika and John just yet as I just don’t know what I could possibly say. What could you say to a mother who has lost her child like that? They must feel completely and utterly devastated. Steven was a kind and generous lad, even as a young boy his compassionate nature was admired. I remembered how patient he was with his special needs sister and helpful for his Mum. This will leave a massive hole in their hearts forever more.

Rest in peace Steven. xxx

3 responses to “Sadness

  1. Unbelievably devastating. Sending prayers and hugs x

  2. That rang of emotions is very good for you to get out I would think Tania. I’m sure when the time comes for you to talk to his parents you will know what to say or if neccesary just listen to them. Don’t put a time frame on it as I would think later would be better as it will take them years to work through it… a card or note in the early days would be good I think.

  3. I keep looking at my little brother David, he’s 18 in a few days too and can’t imagine having to say goodbye to him. Life is so precious.
    He looks back at me like I’m a complete nutter – the joys of carefree youth, where they just don’t seem to ‘get it’.

Leave a Reply

