The Flight

Our flight was due out at 2am. The red-eye flight. The kids were running on all cylinders, seemingly unaware what time it was. I was hoping we would get some sleep on the plane, boy was I tired. I don’t function well when I am really tired.

Children #3 and #4 were jumping with excitement as the plane started up and the hostess began her safety talk. Child #4 cracked the King up; he was almost out of breath from laughing. As the hostess demonstrated the lifejacket, he checked under his seat to see if it was there… reassured that it was he then counted the seats to the nearest exit, but stopped short with a stunned look on his face when she said the words “water landing”. “WHAT!!! Who said anything about WATER???”

As the plane sped up Child #3 could barely contain himself, clapping and gripping the armrests, his eyes just about bobbing out of his head. As soon as we were in the air Child #4 looked down at himself with a shy grin and said, “Oh, I got so excited I think I peed myself a little bit”.

Then the 3 men behind me began to talk in a foreign language. Loudly. And they didn’t stop until 15 minutes before we landed. Completely and utterly disrespectful. And boy was I pissed at them. Lucky I am not the kind of person who would say something, but if I was I would have let them have it. I had it all worked out in my mind what I would say and it was not pretty. Child #3 had some things to say too and he doesn’t know how to hold back, but they didn’t hear him. Worst luck. I kinda wished they could hear him. He tossed and turned all night, complaining loudly but to no avail, they didn’t hear (or understand da english) I put Em’s music on (and still heard them over that) and I ended up wrapping Child #3’s head in my jumper to block out their “partying” conversation. I did punch the seat about 3 times in a row though, where the one directly behind me kept pushing his knees into my back. He sure got that message. Andrew kept looking over wondering when I was going to snap and stand up to give them my full force glare (the one reserved for him and the kids only) boy, no-one could ignore that. And although tired and peeved, I just couldn’t do it. It’s times like this I wish I had one of my “outspoken” friends with me. I have a few of them. They’d stick up for me.

So I didn’t get a wink of sleep all night. All night. I am not a happy camper when I don’t get sleep. And #3 was mad.

Just dandy.

taniasig

8 responses to “The Flight

  1. It’s tricky isn’t it? If they lack manners sufficiently to talk the whole way through a red-eye flight then they probably would just talk louder and/or knee you in the back harder should you take courage and speak up. Or the other scenario is the whole plane erupts into cheers and applause that someone spoke up to give it to ’em!

    • Ah well, it’s over now and I’m fully charged up with sleep now. It’s just a memory and I didn’t embarrass my family by making a scene.

  2. Erm, what was Andrew doing about it? Isn’t that what husbands are for?

  3. outspoken friends eh??? Well i did offer to carry your bag… next time you’ll take me up on the offer.

Leave a Reply

