He’s got his Ma and his Pa

This little (big) kid of mine is pretty happy right now. He’s in a hotel room in Perth, sleeping next to his Ma and his Pa. Tomorrow will be a big day for him with his surgery, but right now he’s happy. The plane trip was good, a little turbulent, but that adds to the fun of it. 
You know… I can’t think of a time before where he’s had both parents all to himself. Excepting of course 12 years ago, when he was the only child. Man that sounds like such a long time ago, why is that it feels like only just yesterday. Yesterday I was a new Mum, I didn’t know what to expect with “Motherhood”. I didn’t have much of an idea, sure I loved children, but actually having one of your own is quite different.
On top of that, there was this “disability” thing we had to deal with. Man, I sure didn’t know what I was in for with that! Every test they did on my baby boy tore at my heart, every cry I felt his pain as if it were my own. Now here we are 13 years on, and I am still dreading taking him into hospital. Oh sure, I am older, wiser and stronger, but I am still “Mum” and can’t help feeling a little concerned. I don’t think that will ever change… no matter how old our children are.
But I have back-up this time… I have Andrew. And together we make a great team. He holds me up and I hold him up… we lean on each other and we can stand tall.

So tomorrow morning we go in. 6.45 we need to be there. Yikes. I am not a morning person. They say he might only be there for the day, or he might stay longer, depending on how he recovers.

Gotta go. Outta battery.

12 responses to “He’s got his Ma and his Pa

  1. All the best from us here in Geraldton, especially our wonderful Scrappin community, you support us all so well, listening to our woes & worries, we love you for all the things you are to us, so we are sending some back, know that we are thinking of you three there in Perth & praying for every one involved to have the best outcome for Josh & his family. xxx

    • Thank you Rachel, and thanks for your call tonight. I had forgotten all about ‘home’ and ‘class’ being so focused on Joshua, that it was lovely to hear your voice and know that you guys were thinking of us. xxxx

  2. Jenny Burnett

    Tania, I will be thinking of you, Andrew and Josh. xxx

  3. Hi Tania 🙂

    All the best for Josh’s surgery today and I hope his recovery is really speedy and as smooth as can be.

    You might not remember me, but I went to a mothers group in Geraldton with you when Josh was a baby.. Michelle Clarke introduced me to you all.. I had a baby boy, Jacob. A scrapping friend a few weeks ago showed me your blog, it’s been great seeing how you are all going 🙂

    Anyway, I just wanted to wish you all well today, and hope it is as good as it can possibly be 🙂

    Take care

    Sheree McGee

    • Sheree, You are down Michelle’s way now aren’t you? I am a shocker for forgetting things… anyone who knows me knows that! I need reminding all the time.. and I think you’ve reminded me before. Didn’t you sell me something on Ebay years ago? A bratz doll? I am pretty scatter-brained, so I am probably wrong.
      Thanks for visiting!

  4. Big kisses to Josh ( and you two as well) Hope for a speedy recovery with no complications- call us if you need anything. XXX

  5. Tania
    You are in my prayers. Here’s to a speedy recovery
    Diana

  6. goodluck to you tan and andy… missed u last night Tan and I missed your wave in the carpark today Andrew…hope all goes well!

Leave a Reply

