Reading

A short time after my first baby was born I stopped reading. It wasn’t a conscious decision, but it was around 5 years later, and there were a whole pile of babies by then, that I realised I hadn’t read a book in ages. But I still didn’t pick one up.

I got back into reading on our first holiday together, my baby was 11 and went into respite care for 21 days so we could go away with the 3 youngest babies, who were 10, 8 and 8. Our next big holiday is coming up, Josh is now 14, and will again go into respite care with his carer and the last 4 days with my Ma, and we are leaving the country! Oh my… now that’s a big step for us. We are so very excited and have begun counting down.

But I did continue to read, on and off for the past 3 years. I confess to loving the Twilight series early on, when I read that Tim Holtz (who I was stalking at the time) was reading it, I just had to have a read myself and eagerly read the most recent of Stephanie Meyers books; The Short and Second Life of Bree Tanner. Yes it was too short.

Last week I read Mao’s Last Dancer, about a man growing up in China, a peasant boy lucky enough to be chosen to dance for China. It saddens me that there is such poverty in the world, and as I read the dates in the book I would think back to where I would have been at that time or age, and what I had been blessed with that those children would never even know about. Even now, the empty marshmallow packet in front of me… there are some children who will never taste the goodness of the sweet, soft marshmallow – pink or white. How unfair life is. I got to thinking about how different it would have been if I were born in that country, or if Joshua had been born there. Perish that thought.

The tears flowed and flowed throughout “P.S. I Love You” and my family had a roaring great time coming into my room in the final pages to make fun of me.. laugh and throw things at me… or just stand in front of me staring. Bunch of meanies! I love a good love story.

I wonder what book I might read next? Got a good one for me?

8 responses to “Reading

  1. I too stopped reading for pleasure for a while- 1990-1997 while I was at uni and immersed in technical text books. I now always have a pile of books on my bedside table ranging from James Patterson thrillers to all the vampire themed books around at the moment. I also always have a pile of magazines ranging from my weekly dose of gossip (Who) to scrapping and papercraft mags for when I need something to read while watching telly. I have just finished Charlaine Harris’ (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood fame) other series and if you are on the supernatural bandwagon they’re worth a look.

    • Oh Louise, i dont like scary books. I don’t like scary ANYTHING. I love ‘My Sisters Keeper’, fantastic book, heaps better than the movie.

      • I have just started “The Lovely Bones” and no, I haven’t seen the movie……I’m enjoying it so far…….and the “Time Traveller’s Wife” was pretty cool too- I haven’t seen the movie for that one either…………I haven’t seen the movie of “My Sister’s Keeper” but I probably won’t as I didn’t think much of the book- it was ok but not really my thing.

  2. I also dont get that much time to read but, I did read “Flight of the Dragonfly” by Melissa Hawach. The whole time I questioned myself would I do the same if it was my children!!!! “Absolutley!!!!! Great Read….

  3. I read ALL the time, and yes, usually when I should be doing other things, Anyhoo, read The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Best book ever. Really. It’s that good.

  4. Ok, maybe not best book EVER. But it’s pretty good and worth the read!!

  5. Hi Tania,
    I wondered where you got this picture of the boy reading? I’d like to use it in a powerpoint, but don’t want to infringe on copyright. Can you send me either permission or information about it?
    Thanks,
    Barbara Conway

Leave a Reply

