Blast from the future

What would you say to your 16 year old self?

Given the chance I would give myself a darn good talking to. I guess that’s why I am always talking to my kids. Back when I was 16, I was so unsure of myself, lacking confidence and trying to grow up so quickly to fit into the adult world I was in. I was working full time, I was living with my boyfriend and I didn’t respect my elders nearly as much as I should have.
So what would I tell myself? Firstly I find myself wondering if I would have listened? I didn’t really have anyone telling me what to do, except maybe my Oma, who cried and told me that I was breaking my fathers heart and I should be a good girl.
I really wasn’t a bad girl, just a little young to be doing the things I was doing. I sometimes wonder how different life could have been if my had family hadn’t split up and if I had continued going to school. I loved school and wanted to go to university. For me, this was not to be and all throughout history I guess we could say “what if”.
If I could travel back in time tonight to my 16 year old self, I would tell her that everything is going to turn out fine, I know how she worries she is not good enough, smart enough, pretty enough.  So far we have got along in life happily, with lots of wonderful things to enjoy along the way, and some amazing challenges that we will get through. I would tell her to have faith and believe in herself, that she is stronger that she could ever imagine. 
Maybe I could tell her to take shares in Microsoft and Google.
But I know what she would REALLY want to know and I would assure her that her boyfriend would indeed marry her and that we would have children. Her parents loved her and still love her.  I would tell her to stop feeling inadequate, and that her life will not turn out the way she planned, but it will be a wonderful life just the same.
I would promise her that her deepest wishes would all come true and to continue to enjoy the journey.

And she would look at me, roll her eyes and say ” Nah… your a crack-pot”.

So I pose the question to you. What would you say to your 16 year old self?

6 responses to “Blast from the future

  1. I’m disappointed … was looking 4wd to seeing you in a taffetta number with big puffy sleves and mobs of curly hair… oh and maybe some white high heels to complete the whole 80’s look…. YUMMO!

    • haha, funny! I think if I told my 16 year old self that one day I would love wearing pants everyday, and a suit jacket… along with FLAT closed in shoes… I would have thought I was nuts!
      Think I can find a photo with the curly hair, taffeta and puffy sleeves though. Did you know me back then? haha

  2. Gosh, I can hardly remember my 16 year old self, think I was working at home learning how to cook, clean the house etc so guess I would just tell me to pay more attention to what Mum was trying to teach me, not that milking the cows would come in handy today…. 🙂

  3. Hahaha, would slap my 16 year old self fair around the ear, no I wasnt too bad by 16 (though my Ma might disagree). Think I’d sort of got over my worst naughtiness by then. I was like you Tania, starting my Business Diploma @ TAFE, moved out, living with the fella I’m still married to ( omg 26 long long years) but wouldn’t change a thing. Wonder what we’d think if Em or Darcie told us they were moving out with their partner @ 16 – hahahah I know who’d be getting a slap around the ear then.

    • Haha Sandra, I was worse at 15 too, all improving since then. By the time we are 90 we’ll be angels!
      Think we can lock our kids up? I might let Em out at around… umm… let’s say 19… They are such sweeties now… can’t imagine them getting into mischief. Oh, I feel a headache coming on… They say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Leave a Reply

