Goodbye Primary

My babies have graduated and today was their last day of Primary School. I cried on their first day and I have cried today. Actually truth be told, I have cried lots in the past month. What sook I am. I am tired and torn as can’t be in 3 places at once. My family, my friends, my work.

My poor boys… I feel I am failing them. I missed their graduation – due to work. I missed their disco – due to work. I missed the Music Festival – due to work.  I missed their concert – due to work.

Don’t get me wrong, I am happy to be at work, I have a fabulous job in a fabulous business, surrounded by fabulous people, but this month, it got in the way of my family life.

And my family life is pretty important to me. Take a look at my twins… they are growing up right before my eyes… and  I am missing some of it! I think I blinked and look what happened.  Oh my, where are the tissues? It was only just a little while ago and they looked like this…

 and now they look like this…

I really wanted to be there for their graduation, but taking photos before was the best I could do, and they were happy. They are always happy with me, whether I have given them a lot of attention or a little, whether I am there or I am just wishing I was there. They are happy. Thank goodness for video cameras and friends who take photos, because the boys didn’t really say much, shrugging and saying “yeah, it was good”.

Today was the “Big Day Out” at school, and I noticed around midnight that  Child #4 went to sleep in his boardies and rash shirt… do you think he might have been looking forward to it?

Oh would you look at those little faces… excuse me while I go find another box of tissues. sniff sniff.

6 responses to “Goodbye Primary

  1. I feel your pain. Been there done that. Life is short, our babies grow too quick and we can miss so much in the blink of an eye.
    Love Mum xxx

  2. and I can’t believe my baby starts kindy next year….chris will miss his first day but I am so grateful I get to be there….with a big box of tissues!

  3. I know how you feel Tanya, just had a little sniffle myself filling in all the boarding school forms….and when I saw the fees!

Leave a Reply

