Life Documented

Do you love to be inspired? Then read on – This is what is on the blog over at Simple Stories by Allison.

Hi Everyone! Time to talk trends again with our Simple Basics topic. That means I’m here today to share some ways the awesome Simple Stories lines fit in with all the latest trends. With fall almost officially upon us and summer days waning, most of you are probably all about back to school. But since both my kids are grown and currently (though we all know it’s never permanent when they leave, right?) living in other cities, I am not focused on all those cute back to school photos. In fact, as a mom of grown kids, it’s sometimes hard to keep taking photos. But I love photography and I love scrapbooking. So, I’m digging all the sites and people lately who provide photo inspiration. I recently came across a 30 day photo challenge list with 30 days worth of prompts. What a great idea for me I thought! 

The Simple Stories Life Documented line was the first thing that came to mind and I ended up with this cute little album:

IMG_6825_0013

Now, as far as mini albums go, this one went together really fast. Why? Well, you know why – because Simple Stories makes EVERYthing easier! 

I started with a basic album

IMG_6813_0001

I gathered a few fun printed elements from the Life Documented line and cut them so that they easily pieced together. I played around a bit until I landed on this design.

IMG_6814_0002

Before gluing it all down though, I wanted to add a stamped image for a little texture. The camera stamp from Unity/Simple Stories Destinations line was perfect.

IMG_6816_0004

I then glued all the pieces onto the cover, added some stickers for the title – and PUNCHED THE HOLES. You want to punch the holes at this point BEFORE you flip to do the inside of the cover. Otherwise, it’s harder to figure out where the holes are to be punched. 

IMG_6818_0006

 

I then wanted a large journaling area for the inside of the cover. I can’t say often enough how much I love all the pre-printed designs. All I had to do here was create a 1″ strip for the binding edge and then cut a corner of one of the papers to size. Adhere, punch the holes, and then add my journaling prompts.

IMG_6819_0007

IMG_6821_0009

 

For the inside pages, I wanted to keep them REALLY simple. Because I don’t know yet what photos I’m going to use, I just wanted a basic placement for later use. Once I add photos, I might embellish more. But we’ll see… Here are how some of the pages are coming along…

IMG_6822_0010

IMG_6823_0011

IMG_6824_0012

 Now all I have to do is remember to take the photos and I’ll be set! I’m looking forward to completing this album… eventually 🙂
Allison.

 

One response to “Life Documented

  1. Thinking I really like that stuff.

Leave a Reply

