Arty farty

20120428-232755.jpg

So, the journey begins… The course I am doing with Heartistry is an 8 week course… Hold the bus? You mean I have to wait each week for the next lesson? What? WAIT? Really?

Now, this is very difficult for me to do… I am an all-in kinda girl and once I get the mojo flowing, I don’t wanna stop… Other than the pastels, I think I have done most of the techniques we are going to learn, I just wanted to learn from somebody… A teacher! But I have to wait… and that means so will you. Hopefully I am able to post the finished product, and I am not the artist I would like to be, so it’s all a learning journey for me, but I don’t mind that my art is not great so I’m not too bashful to show it to you. After all, no art is terrible… or at least if it is… there will be someone who likes it.

Thats the great things about art, its all how you see it. Mostly for me, I don’t like looking at it, I just like doing it. Which is why (unless I give it away) I end up reusing canvases and painting over them after a while.

So… This is what I did last night…that’s Basic Grey Pyrus. under that Gesso and texture.

20120428-232822.jpg

And here you can see better with one of my new Crafters Templates, the ink splotch, I am loving that one too!

20120428-232841.jpg

We don’t get to add any more until next week.
Oh no!
I went shopping (at my favourite art store Jacksons) and bought chalk pastels (thanks Sue)… And we don’t get to use them today? No no no… What to do? Of course, just take them and play! So, Em and I set ourselves up at the table and we tried pastels for the first time, just on a rough sheet of watercolour paper, and this is what we came up with. Now of course, as soon as the art supplies are out, so are my 3 youngest, all wanting to get creative too. So the Princess wanted to draw too, (her art blows me away every time, makes me want to ban her because she makes me look bad) needless to say, I have a LOT to learn about scary chalk pastels before I can say I like them. They are not nice to work with.

20120428-234343.jpg

20120428-234412.jpg

Em’s dark-eyed girl turned out gorgeous. Pfft. Beginner.

4 responses to “Arty farty

  1. wow… love both your drawings with pastels but em definately has an amazing talent – the features are exquisite. Can’t wait to see what happens with the next week for your textured canvas

    • Pastels are definitely challenging, so different to watercolours and pencils, but it’s good to drive yourself out of the box sometimes. I am well and truly out of my box… But that darn kid of mine takes to every medium with ease and has had pencils in her hand since she could hold a spoon.

  2. Great read, loved the art, good luck with the course

Leave a comment