Crayon melt art

Earlier last year Emily and I came across some cool crayon melting art whilst we were floating around on the world of YouTube. We knew we just had to give that a go! Not that I had anywhere to put art like that, it’d be fun to play!

We played with oil pastels as we didn’t have any crayons in the house and had trouble getting them to stick to the board, we’d need the hot glue gun and that was at the shop… So we forgot about it for ages until we saw it again recently on Better Homes and Gardens and remembered we wanted to try this. Also, Joshua’s room is finished and provided the perfect spot to put something bright -right above his bed!

We’re using a long canvas and I went down to my local Jacksons, (love that shop!) and purchased a bunch of crayons. Best time to buy crayons is now, right before school, they are so cheap!

20130125-192916.jpg
We sat and lined them up in colour order, but then I thought I’d have a trial on a smaller board first… you know… to figure out some kind of technique to use. It took us ages to get them just right, and each one was carefully lifted so not to mark the canvas.

20130125-193327.jpg
And here is the trial version…

20130125-193516.jpg
How cool is that? Joshy loves it too (ok, so he just wants to bash it, but that’s how we know he likes it, he’s reaching for it) so we will go ahead with the big one tonight.
It’s sitting here on the table, which is very difficult for boys on the autism spectrum to leave alone… they both have been compelled to line them up straight and I want them haphazard. Emily is using oil pastels again, which will give thicker drips of colour, I’ll be sure to post a picture soon!

20130125-200153.jpg

10 responses to “Crayon melt art

  1. How interesting … looking forward to seeing the final product.

  2. I have tried it too, it is awesome. Dying to try one on black canvas now

  3. I just came across your crayon art and love it. I think I will have to try this, my gk would love doing this.

Leave a Reply

