Class one – homework

After we finished Art Journal class in December I thought I could keep inspired with my renewed arty energy. I should be able to do that, given that I work in a Scrapbook Store, surrounded by talented folk and awesome products, but I found myself busy with Christmas, school holidays and then all of a sudden Term 1 was upon us. It’s not until now, the first week of Art Journal 2 class that I am feeling back into it and I really enjoy the class environment too (except for those rowdy ones at the back of the class- ha ha, bringing Michelle a stick next week to keep them in line… wasn’t me… batts eyelashes) It’s so nice to have the paints back out again, and we all have a new book to play in. I hope you might like if I share some if my Art Journal Journey with you.

20130515-235128.jpg
I have just now completed part one of our “homework” and I am feeling pretty pleased. Our Journals are each unique and we used a variety if mediums to get to this point, but I am completely in love with the Ava Stencil I used to get the face outlines so perfect. (Thanks Sandra for the loan of your stencil – I was “respectful” with it and cleaned the texture paste off it carefully)
All I needed to do was colour her in! I chose acrylic paints and after a few tries at it and some patient lessons from my daughter I am happy with the result. The words on the cover say “Seize the Day, please use the handles provided” and down the bottom it reads “Dare to be fabulous”
Now looking forward to Part 2 of my homework- the apron. Off to google Donna Downey’s creations now for inspiration, she’s the Calico Queen!

20130516-000019.jpg
Here’s the “before” shot. Got any ideas of what I should write on it?

4 responses to “Class one – homework

  1. Fantastic painting Tania … sorry no ideas for the apron though, unless something like “I’m a cook not a chef” πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Janita. I was thinking something about art to put on my apron as it’s not for the kitchen, maybe I could use that idea and say something about being a painter not a chef/cook? See, one idea leads to the next! Thanks!

  2. how about “I ART happy unless I’m being ARTistic”

Leave a Reply

