Smooth day

It’s 8am and I’m sitting in the Geraldton Airport with my boy by my side. He’s flapping about, arms folded flicking them up and down & knocking his knees together. He’s happy. I say “boo”, he laughs and lifts his head a little, knocking his knees harder ~ like a puppy wagging his tail, it’s a sure fire way to read his emotion.

 

We didn’t bother with AFO’s today.

I doubt he will wear these again, he’ll have new ones I expect, made to fit his altered feet in about 6 weeks time.

Andrew is getting ready to leave in the car (we decided to take the Chrysler) & I hope he has a safe and uneventful tip. He said he got enough sleep last night, maybe just to please me, but I know he was up to an unhappy boy who got his head stuck in the railing – again – (must do something about that).

Saying goodbye to my girl was easier than I thought it would be… we have both been practising keeping our tears under control and I am proud of the pair of us. She is very brave and mature.

So – we sit – waiting for the staff to switch wheelchairs, we know the drill quite well by now. He gets a narrow chair to fit down the aisle of the plane, and they take him up on the lift then wheel him to his seat. Gone are the days where I would carry him up the stairs to the plane.

The airport is busy and I see a few familiar faces, one of the reasons I love the country. Josh is looking around, laughing when he catches my eye.

I think this will be a good flight.

It was a good flight – Joshy is very happy. I was delighted with the helpful staff, even for our taxi we jagged had a nice driver, and he spoke English – bonus!

Checked the blog on my phone – I really appreciate all the support from you guys. Thankyou! Got to PMH later than I’d have hoped, but not to worry, straight in for bloods… no trouble and we left with Joshua still very happy. Up to the ward and he has a room to himself. His nurse has nursed him before. Love that.

Now we are just waiting for his Dad to arrive safe and sound. So far so good, even had my spy on the twins and they are doing ok too… off to the beach for free time. They’ll enjoy that.

Andrew is here. He brought me soft drink, chocolate and headache tablets. My hero. He’s in fine form, joking about. Pressing the nurse button, and asking for the time… Hee hee. There’s a pee bucket here and he’s making jokes about that too.

He says R McD House is beautiful, he wants to live there. The staff are lovely although I don’t know if they know how to take him, whilst she was informing him of the house guidelines she said that guests were asked not to walk around barefoot. He wanted to know if walking around in his boxer shorts would be ok. Poor girl. No, that’s not ok in anyone’s house!

Its now after 11 at night and my final entry for today. It’s been a long day, but not terrible. The staff at Princess Margaret are nothing short of lovely and everything has gone smoothly so far, excepting of course that one vital bag was left at home. Oops. If my King wasn’t feeling so bad I might take the opportunity to rib him about this, but I will have to save that one for later. It’ll go nicely with another I am saving.

For now, he is super-dad, and my hero. He is at the hospital sleeping with his eldest son to be sure he is well rested for tomorrow and that all his needs are met. He is there for him, for each of his children, and for me, 110%

I’m off to bed too. Big day tomorrow.

Night.

 

7 responses to “Smooth day

  1. Josh is the most sweetest, adorable teenage boy with the most adorable, loving and devoted parents one could ever wish for! You two are inspirational and will get through this as you have each other, so be brave and strong for Josh, it’s a rollercoaster ride ahead for him. we are all thinking of you with love and special thoughts..hugs kisses xxxxx

  2. Glad to hear all went well for you all yesterday. Remember to take care of yourself my brave friend, thinking of you all, xxx

  3. Hope all goes well today. Glad you had a safe and uneventual trip down to PMH. Thinking of you all, take care.xxx

  4. Gosh Josh! So many people are thinking of you my little love and so they should! You’re a fair bit lovable hey? My thoughts have been and shall remain with you during this whole ordeal. I hope it all goes smoothly for you and that you have no pain. But I know you’ll yell loud enough if you are in any pain, go Josh! What room No at PMH will you be in?

    Tania and Andrew, I am there for you for WHATEVER!!!! Except that new car you desperately need, sorrry.
    The 3 younger Littlely’s will be well taken care of in your absence. What little bag was left behind?
    Love to you all during this challenging time. I will talk with you soon. Mum xxx

  5. Andrew doesn’t get to the city much does he???………..It must be such a stressful time for you both so it’s lovely to see Andrew’s sense of humour is intact (despite being somewhat inappropriate!) and that you don’t turn that stress on each other……so loving and supportive of each other……kisses to you all three of you and remember we’re here for anything you might need (or anything you don’t need but would like anyway). Can I help with replacing whatever was in the left-behind bag??

  6. No need to worry, the bag is on the way express post as instructed. Love you all. xoxo

Leave a comment